Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

A tribute to the simultaneously awesome and terrible Disco Dancer and objectively awesome Rishi Kapoor.

Who’s seen Disco Dancer? If anyone could persuade little-me to not watch Bollywood for years, I suppose it had to be Mithun. (Is it sad that I was reeled back in by Dhadkan in 2000? Maybe…) Disco Dancer‘s excruciatingly bad plot scarred me for a good while. In Mithun’s defense…Amitabh was still dishing out goodies in the 80’s, like Laawaris and Sharaabi. Moreover, before the death of the 80’s, Aamir and Salman delivered Qayamat Se Qayamat Tak and Maine Pyar Kiya. Mithun had neither the charisma of Amitabh nor the boyish charm of Aamir…nor whatever Salman had to offer (Yes, yes. I loved Maine Pyar Kiya a decade ago too, but it has been years since I’ve been able to admit liking any work of Salman). If Mithun didn’t stand a chance in eighties Bollywood…then imagine how he compared to the early nineties (full of classics!) when I actually watched Disco Dancer! Yikes.

Poor guy. I’ll give him this much…no one can brood like Mithun in “Jimmy Jimmy”. He is the embodiment of overwhelming, perpetual sorrow. I’ll take it, Mithun. Especially over your pelvic thrusting. Ick!

My issues with Mithun aside, I adore these songs 🙂 And why insert Rishi Kapoor? Because I love him. Bobby? Amar Akbar Anthony? If you can’t tell, I am on a Bollywood high at the moment. Watch the vids and reminisce with me 🙂

