Here’s a little recipe I thought I’d share in case anyone else is a chaat addict like I am. It’s got some non-traditional ingredients, that I usually like in Mexican foods because I figure why not. So I like to think of this little concoction as being somewhere between chaat and a taco salad. Also, I put nuts in everything so you can disregard that if you would like. Basically, I enjoy this recipe for a few main reasons: 1) kinda Indian, kinda Mexican–two of my three favorite cuisines, 2) pretty good protein and fiber content, and 3) it’s one of my favorite things to take to lunch because I can prepare lots of this stuff in bulk and be set for the week. Plus it’s cold, so I don’t have to waste time microwaving at work and can avoid sending food vapors down the hall.

Ingredients

  • 3 tbsp plain Dannon yogurt
  • 2 tbsp soaked green moong dal (or mung beans)
  • 2 tbsp cooked black beans
  • 2 tbsp white & yellow sweet corn (frozen aisle, Target)
  • 2 tbsp mixed nuts
  • 1/2 a roma tomato
  • 2 tbsp sev/aloo bhujia
  • 1 small red potato
  • a pinch of red chilli powder
  • and a sprig of cilantro

Nutritional Content (calculated with MyPlate)

  • 625 calories
  • 24g fat
  • 0mg cholesterol
  • 76g carbohydrates
  • 13g fiber
  • 23g protein
  • 11g sugar

Cut the corn if you’re worried about sugar. Increase moong dal/black beans/nuts concentrations if you want more protein. Maybe substitute regular yogurt with Greek yogurt for a bit of extra protein, too. And definitely increase moong dal concentration if you want more fiber. Green moong sprouts are my favorite 🙂 If you’re interested, I have a fiberful recipe including moong dal that I love to pieces. It’s the Isfahan version of pessarattu, in case you know what that is.

Cooking the moong dal will reduce some of the fibery goodness, but it honestly tastes better that way. I refrain from cooking it, but I’m one to sacrifice a little taste for nutritional benefit. So yeah, I never stick with all of these ingredients and I’m always experimenting with new things to add. But I just wanted to share my love for chaat in case anyone would be interested :)

